Minneapolis Finder Forum MN
RegisterSearchTutorialsMemberlistLog in
Reply to topic Page 1 of 1
Jax Cafe
Post Jax Cafe 
Jax Cafe is something of a Northeast Mpls institution. And though I've been a Nordeast resident for years, I had never found occasion to dine there--something about it seemed prohibitive--the legacy, the prices, all that red meat! But LivingSocial offered a great deal a couple weeks back: $35 for $70 worth of food and drink at Jax. It was just the opportunity I'd been waiting for and I seized upon it!

My boyfriend and I ventured down there on Sunday evening. It was a slow night in the restaurant, and we ended up sitting next to the beautiful fireplace in one of the sectioned-off dining rooms all by ourselves. The ambiance of the place is lovely--dark wood and hushed lighting--I felt like I was in a scene from Mad Men. When you make a reservation, they print up some personalized matchbooks for you and present them to you when you are seated. A classy and unique touch.

We started with some wine (cabernet for me, pinot grigio for him) and the crab-stuffed mushroom caps.

They were rich, buttery, garlicky, and delicious.

For our main courses, I went with the seared scallop ceasar salad, and my date chose the chicken piccata. We chose the scalloped potatoes and sweet potato fries as our sides.