Plugged In

The only stupid questions are those unasked!
dorajar

Plugged In

Post by dorajar » Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:25 am

How "plugged in" are you to the technological world? How many different devices do you use to stay connected? Do you get anxiety if you don't have access to the technological web of communication in some way for a length of time? Do you think this trend of everyone being constantly plugged in is healthy for society? For individuals? For you?

dorajar

Post by dorajar » Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:38 am

I'm a mixed bag. I was one of the last people I know to get a cell phone. Didn't succumb until after I graduated from college in '03. I still don't own an iPod, and I'm perfectly happy with my little crappy, cheap phone that has the ability to text, take grainy photos and make calls and that's it. I have no interest in a blackberry or palm pilot or iPhone or anything that would let me be connected to the internet from my hand 24/7.

That said, I'm totally addicted to checking my e-mail. I do get anxious if I'm unable to check it for a long time. The exception is when I'm on vacation. On my Southern road trip of '07 and my cruise last March, I consciously chose to avoid any and all computers for the duration of the trip, because I think it's healthy to really, truly unplug once and a while. Lately I'm feeling the need for it something fierce. Probably won't get a chance to unplug and reboot until April, though. By then I'll need it like crazy.

thrice

One Way Street

Post by thrice » Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:20 am

I'm very hooked on the Internet and all the things it offers me in terms of communication, convenience and information.

Having said that, I prefer it be a one-way street.

It seems quite clear that the competitive nature of enterprise and individuals is using technology to raise the bar of involvement and time commitment both for their peers and competitors.